A Day in the Life of Kenzie’s Belly

A week ago I posted a link to an article on my Facebook page in which a random Registered Dietitian posted a photo log of her day’s food intake. I also may or may not have made comments about it being less than stellar and not MY interpretation of a healthy diet.

SIDEBAR: that’s what scares the crap outta me these days- people out there, with the initials that qualify them as “nutrition professionals” who are practicing less than ideal concepts day to day and telling others to do the same. I’m not sure if they are uneducated, scared to open their minds to another school of thought, or just old timey and unwilling to change their outdated AF 1900’s understanding of nutrients and the human body.

I will be the first to say I definitely do NOT believe I KNOW EVERYTHING and that MY WAY IS NOT THE ONLY WAY, I do believe a few certain principles:

  • processed food isn’t a platform for overall health no matter how “all natural” it is
  • artificially sweetened diet foods are effing horrible for you and should never be encouraged
  • limiting protein/red meat isn’t anything anyone truly needs to worry about because under eating protein is a far worse issue than consuming fat and cholesterol

So while I think these are the major differences in what I view as healthy vs what a traditional RD views as healthy, everyone is different and “que sera sera.” However, I was asked for MY TAKE on what a day’s intake SHOULD look like, and I never back down from a challenge (or deny a request.)

Let me preface my food log with this…THIS ISN’T FOR EVERYONE. THIS ISN’T THE ANSWER TO YOUR DIET WOES. This is what works for ME. I’m going to venture to guess my nutrient needs are a smidgen higher than the typical American female…most likely higher than that unsuspecting, food logging RD. I have different aesthetic goals, different activity levels, and a different body composition, not to mention different metabolism, hormonal status, age, etc. All of that matters. But bottom line, what you will notice…I am JERFing the hell out of my food. 90% of what I eat is real, wholesome food. And that, my friends is what I find vastly different from what you will read below and this.

7am – PreWorkout- Breakfast

image2 (2)

  • ½ cup old fashioned oatmeal + ½ cup berries + 1 T almond butter
  • Coffee with 1 scoop why isolate protein

Heading out to a 3 hour training session (didn’t have time to do 2 sessions today so jammed it all into one mega session) I don’t eat a ton going in, but a little bit of all 3 – protein, carb, and fat- to get me goin. Oh, and the coffee…of course. No bulletproof this morning, as I don’t want #allthefat going into a training session.

9:30am – IntraWorkout Shake

image3 (2)

  • 1 scoop BCAAs + 1 scoop Creatine/HMB + ½ scoop Karbolyn

 

When I train for these extended sessions I dip into my magical bag of supps to keep me fueled, not broken down, and recovering to make sure I can get through it all like a champ. BCAAs and Karbolyn are awesome fuel for su

ch a situation. And creatine….well, when you lift heavy weight daily…you gotta.

11:30pm- Lunch

gggggggg

  • 4 oz pork loin + ½ cup apples + 5 oz sweet potatoes (crockpotted together- SOOOO GOOD)

 

God bless cork pots because after making a bee line from the gym, the second I walked in the door I dished this up and chowed down.

I literally had no idea what I was doing when I made this, but damn did it turn out good!

jjj

(hence the face)

The apple and sweet potato combo was perfect for post workout glycogen replenishment- I hit a big dose of carbs after training sessions to refuel those stores for the next one.

2:30pm- Snack

image1 (3)

  • 1 egg + ½ cup egg whites + 1 cup kale, toasted + 1 slice Ezekiel bread + 1 T Kerrygold

 

I eat eggs every day. For a meal, for a snack, whatever. And while egg whites are a processed carton of goo, they are amazingly helpful at increasing protein intake without maxing out fat. Ive also really been into toasting kale and putting it on top of my food lately…really amps up the texture and charredness factor.

Also, grassfed butter is soooo good. I ain’t about dat lowfat lyfe with the “it’s not really butter” stuff or the “let’s pretend to look like butter but really be oil” products. Do yourself a favor, get some Kerrygold. STAT.

4pm – Snack while out running errands

eeeee

  • 1 Questbar (chocolate, naturally) + sparkling water

I can’t even lie…I have a horrible sweet tooth. I definitely eat my share of chocolate, cookies, ice cream, you name it. But I will use everything in my power to limit those occasions and Questbars are one such tool I implement here. Yes, processed and containing some sucralose, I get 20g of protein and hella fiber instead of all the caramel, nougat and chocolate I’d be consuming otherwise.

And sparkling water is my new favorite distraction from “bored munchies”…. I get those, and having this in hand stomps it out.

7pm- Dinner

image5

  • 4 oz top sirlion + 1 cup broccoli / peppers + ½ cup white rice

Mmmmmm steak. One of the leanest cuts of steak. And Im not one to support the steroptype that a healthy meal looks like chicken, rice and broccoli…because that is indeed a death sentence and food bordom will strike immediately. I just happen to love rice and broccoli, so I do eat it a lot. But I also love aparagus or brussle sprouts…just depends what CostCo had that week.

9pm- Bedtime snack

image4 (2)

  • 2 scoop Progenex Cocoon

I’ve been using this product for several months now and I really believe it helps me sleep soundly. A casein protein shake is the concept here…a slow digesting protein to help you recover while you sleep. I also add some magnesium powder to it so I sleep reeeal dead like.

Sometimes I’ll eat a bowl of Rice Krispies or more oatmeal if I’m feeling extra famished, but typically this is a day in the life of Kenzie’s belly. In case ya’ll have ever wondered. Not every day is the same, sometimes my schedule is different and sometimes I want pizza or cookies…but in the end this is what makes me feel good, perform well and keep me functioning day to day in this abnormally active life I lead. If you want some input on how to charge up your day to day food life, get at me!

Leave a Reply

