Eff It In 2015

It’s 2015 ya’ll. Which means it’s 15 years since the millennial year in which we thought Y2K was going to ruin the world (congrats, we made it!)…which means it’s been 15 years since I was in 7th grade sporting braces and a flat chest…which means I’m getting seriously old. Wow, I just had a serious moment of depression as I typed out that thought. Damn. So, I might be one more year decrepit, but I like to think I’m at least getting wiser. As I sit here and reflect upon this blank entry page I have consciously decided NOT to write about the cliché New Year Resolutions, inspiring everyone to start fresh and new and shoot for the stars! Yup, that’s right, I’m NOT going there because this one year wiser gal has some wise light to shine on life.

While I’m all about setting goals, challenging myself, and constantly working toward self-improvement, sometimes, I think this mentality can rob us of enjoying any progress we have made or celebrating any victories we have achieved. And then there is the constant pursuit for acceptance and approval from others (that so many of us will deny we are even affected by) that constantly has us thinking we need to be better or change something more.

So to hell with resolutions, this year I’ll be sticking to a new framework.

Welcome to my Eff It list. Six things I’m going to stop giving a f*%! about in 2015. Because, as important as it is to push yourself to be a healthier, more compassionate, better person, that can be more stressful and ACTUALLY make you feel like a failure and overall worse person. Refusing to give an eff, however, can sometimes be a struggle (change is hard) but it tends to be way more fun — it’s kind of awesome.

kjgukb

So here it is, eff all these things in 2015.

  1. Swearing

The last week of 2014 I said many times that I’m going to stop with the potty mouth in the new year. Then I decided “eh, not so much.” Get this-I used to NEVER cuss, up through college I was quite the straight edger. Then I started spending more time with my little sister (sorry, Les.) Believe it or not, I’m not a huge fan of constant vulgarities either. That being said, some situations simply call for foul language. Plus, when you spend a lot of time slamming barbells with heavy weight…it’s hard to avoid. What’s more, studies have shown that people who swear are actually more trustworthy and honest. BOOM!

  1. Being more lady like

I’ve said it time and time again, I have no real filter. Aside from the aforementioned swearing, I have a hard time being proper and classy through more than just words, but also appearance, action and demeanor. However, I’m married, landed the dude of my dreams – I’ve done the impossible. Who else am I trying to impress? If squatting in a ditch, not wearing make-up constantly and believing in the 5 second rule is wrong…well I’m just not sure I can be right. Call me crazy, but I just don’t see the clear advantage of being high maintenance.

  1. Numbers

Every athlete says it… “I do this because I love it, not for the glory”…yeah, we all know that’s not 100% true. Everyone wants a win, a PR, a pay check…we all want to achieve the goals we set. But progress comes in many shapes and sizes. Just because you aren’t hitting the numbers you want in a training day, doesn’t mean it’s a wasted day. You will always get fitter by doing something vs doing nothing. Seeing each day as opportunity to move my body in ways some may never experience in a place surrounded by people I enjoy spending time with, rather than a daily test of my abilities, I’ll enjoy the sport much longer. And if nothing else, saying “eff the numbers” will allow more time for more nonsense and tomfoolery with my gym folk.

  1. Pleasing People, Being Accepted, Caring About Image…etc.

I like to think I’m somewhat bold, but I also am a moving target for guilt. I care too much about making people happy,  no matter if they are close to me or complete strangers. Being aware of feelings, considerate and understanding, yes, some of that is appropriate and necessary for being a polite, humane being. However, I’ve spent a great deal of time over my lifespan concerned with other peoples thoughts, feelings, judgments, and so on. Compromising in order to avoid confrontation, apologizing for doing no wrong, walking on eggshells, stifling my natural sarcasm to not make others feel weird- these are stressful situations! The fastest way to make yourself crazy? People pleasing.

This dude might be a pedophile, but he got that one right! In 26 years I’ve managed to surround myself with an accepting group of friends; people that understand my oddities and love me for them. So eff it.

  1. Looking Shredded

Everyone wants to be a hottie with a body, but that reality is about as elusive as a rainbow unicorn. Yeah, I DO work my ass off in training…and I DO eat the exact amount of the right foods that I should…you’d think I’d be all rippling and single digit body fatted. But if we are being honest, I’m not fat, I can lift moderately heavy weight and move my ass moderately fast…so that’s just going to be enough for me. As long as I’m performing well, I’m probably going to eat the cookies and pizza from time to time…or if we are being honest, a little bit of chocolate every day. Would it be awesome to look like a figure model? Hell yeah it would! But, to do high intensity functional fitness like I do and remain ‘natty’ in the process…the extra cushion for the pushin’ will be tolerated. Plus, life becomes sad when you can’t eat the yummy food. And I want to be happy.

  1. Second Guessing

I made a previous post about some inspirational wise words I received from one of my mentors. One of these points was about self-doubt…it’s self-abuse. Ain’t nobody got no time fo dat! While there is no such thing as a sure thing in life, there is such a thing as standing behind your decisions, having hella faith, and knowing that if you don’t believe in yourself then no one else will. The minute to put doubt in your mind, you give way to the spiral of “what if”s  and “yeah, but”s …which is exhausting. So, to hell with on the fence, lukewarm, indecisiveness. This year I’m sacking up and trusting my gut and my abilities. No ragrets. It’s all about having #faithgreaterthanfear.

Happy New Year.

May you give as few fucks as I do in 2015.

Leave a Reply

