A New Endeavor

So many thoughts right now. Too many thoughts right now. Can’t even get them all down on paper. It’s like herding cats in my skull. Brain working too fast. Fingers can’t keep up. Sentences not sentences. Word vomit. Help! Bah!

I am sitting on a plane-scored a seat with NO SEAT MATE!- divulging all my brains contents right now…stick with me…

jhhhh

I just spent the last 4 days in the DIRTY SOUTH (what up Hotlantaaaaa!?) having some of the most amazing professional experiences that are changing my life in huge ways.

First things first, Atlanta is chaotic. Never actually ventured further than the airport before this weekend, so that was an adventure in itself. Holy. City. I think I have officially diagnosed myself with anxiety after navigating that traffic. If there is a record for most interstate changes in a one mile stretch, this city has that title on LOCK. However, the weather was gorgeous and they have a Trader Joes, so I can roll with it. I also got the chance to hang out, train with and befriend some super rad people at CrossFit Rx. Some solid athletes, these people are. Not to mention really fun and great dancers-my kind of folk. I highly recommend this joint to anyone WODding while in the ATL!

But the REAL reason I spent time in the peach capitol of the world (at least I think it is?) was for the Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo aka FNCE (fen-see). Basically, all the dietitians of the world come together to talk about, learn about, and consume mass quantities of food for 4 fun filled days. Typically, these sorts of events annoy me, mainly because RD’s (registered dietitians) like to act like they know everything there is to know about food…and pretty much anything else. They are so set in their ways, preaching the same nutrition guidelines they have their whole careers, despite that things are different than they were 30 years ago. Also, everyone is fat and is just getting fatter…obviously these guidelines aren’t working. UUUGH it get’s me SO HEATED! But, I digress…like I was saying, typically I don’t love these gatherings, but there was something special about this year’s FNCE. That difference was me, where I am professionally today vs. ever before. I am at a crossroads in my career, and was really needing some insight on what to do and how to do it, in pursuing a new career endeavor. What better resource than being surrounded by 10,000 other experienced professionals in your field?

umm... winning! - umm... winning!  Charlie Sheen Meme

 

I talked to more people, handed out more business cards, and received more follow up emails/texts than I ever have before in my life! I have professional mentors offering to work with me, correspond over the miles, and be an active player in my personal success. To me, this was HUGE. To have these conversations with people who were in my position, sharing the same feelings as I was at a point in their lives who are now highly successful, reputable professionals in the field. Just in a few brief conversations, their advice set me on FIRE to start moving and shaking!

Some of the best one liners that spoke to me:

“Self doubt is self abuse; no one deserves that.”

“Don’t say ‘but,’ it negates everything you just said.”

“There is no such thing as security; it’s a perception.”

“If you wait for the perfect time, you’ll be waiting forever.”

These small tokens of conversation resonated with me so deeply-and they are all so true!

So, here I am back in the glorious Midwest ready to snap neck and cash checks -POW!

Although not as BRAND SPANKING NEW as it could be, I kind of feel it’s appropriate to “officially” announce my newest endeavor: my very own business! I never thought myself an entrepreneur, but YOU ONLY YOLO ONCEΒ  right?! So, here it is y’all: Real Results Nutrition Consulting by none other than yours truly, the one and only Kenzie Riley, fitness superstar wannabe.

Basically, I have 6 years of college tuition’s knowledge on nutrition,Β  a pretty respected career as an athlete in a sport I love, and a lot of experience in “trail and error” in life, diet, exercise, goal achievement…Why the hell wouldn’t I combine these things to help others become the most awesome versions of themselves?!

If you are tired of the same old feelings of complacency and frustration, why go another day? Feeling good and confident in you own skin, working hard to achieve a goal you reach for, and living the life you dream of living is the essence of joy in life.

"The only thing standing between you and your goal is the bullshit story you keep telling yourself as to why you can't achieve it." Jordan Belfort

CAPRE THE EFFIN DIEM! Start that change today!Β  and let me know how I can help you πŸ™‚ #nowisthetime

Leave a Reply

