RR II

Life has been keeping me uber busy lately. Summer always brings a whole new slew of changes in our household. Roy is out of work for summer and starts an extra job, which brings on a whole new schedule. Then we have to worry about our fur child, who’s going to be where when to let her out so she doesn’t ruin any more of our lives with pee/poop. Oh, and taking he to the vet what seems like every other week…kid’s got problems with her guts. By the way, did you know she’s the cutest dog in all of ever!

image000 image0000 image00

Additionally, pool season is upon us, wedding season is up on us, race season is upon us, and off season training is upon us. So every weekend is full of SOMETHING.

Needless to say, I haven’t had a ton of time to devote to nutrition/cooking on the regular, so I’ve been compiling kitchen success for a little while in order to complete this RECIPE RECAP II. I’ve tried out some truly rad recipes that have been sitting on my Pinterest board for a while. You all know you do it- make boards and have like a zillion things that you “plan to do”….yeah, who are we joking…we are lucky if we even do 1/16th of the cool crap we have filed away. So, I feel accomplishment for scratching these off the list of “To Do” and adding them to the “Tried and True” list! This is when food and me are reeeeeal BFF like.

First up: PaleOMG’s Thai Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes aka Roy’s new favorite food. I must say, this was FLIPPIN’ amazing. Coconut milk is one of those ingredients people are hesitant about…and after they try it are SO glad they did! I think the special ingredient here is almond butter- I threw in some of my VTPB Almond Butter. As per most stove top recipes, this is 100% modifiable if you don’t enjoy peppers n stuff…like me…or if you’re Roy-ish, add some crushed red peppers and hot sauce-BOOM!

IMG_5328 IMG_5329

Elvis Cookies: “Peanut Butter” Banana Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies. I don’t really think I need an explanation for this…like what more could you want in a cookie? That’s damn near the best combination of anything ever. All it’s missing is some Neal Maddox. The thing is, there is actually no peanut butter in this. And like most grain-less cookies, they are flatter than my chest was in 6th grade…but delicious nonetheless! Lesson learned: never judge a cookie by its cover.

IMG_5331 IMG_5330

Tip: I freeze my cookies so I can’t eat them all at once. Also, Paleo recipes tend to be really oily, so that also keeps them from turning to mush. That’s either helpful, or TMI on my cookie “problem.”

While we are on the subject of cookies (top 5 of Kenzie’s favorite subjects, btw), here’s another one from Fast Paleo: Coconut Chocolate Sweet Potato Cookies. Again, the magic is in the name. Usually I get all bent outta shape with recipes that take 573 steps to prepare, and typically sweet potatoes are the quickest of all foods to make. However, I have no patience for actually BAKING them-that ish takes forevs. I used a microwave for this – to get the “smashed” consistency. I made these before a 9 am meeting one day this week. If I can fit it in on a weekday morning, it’s definitely a winner. Plus, they are so MOIST (gross) and gooey, it’s ridiculous.

image5 image4 image7

And the answer to the non-spoken question on everyone’s mind is: Yes. Yes, I am a cookie whore. At least I’m not ashamed to admit it. We all have flaws. Mine is that deep down I am a furry blue Muppet.

image0

Lastly, I’m going to continue my fat kid ways and talk about pudding. I’m not talking Snack Packs, yall, I’m talking healthy gown up pudding. Salted Chocolate Banana Avocado Pudding to be precise. It sounds weird and gross, but the girls from Mama Dweeb really nailed this! In all honestly, there isn’t a crappy ingredient in all of this-it’s actually quite amazing that it tastes so yummy. It’s a clean snack of fat and carbs…add in a protein shake and you’ve got all the macros you need! You have to try this-just to say you did!

image image2

Okay, I feel like a real fatty for having just sat here and talked about food for this whole entry…also, I’m hungry. I’m a walking contradiction #thisismylife.

 

 

Leave a Reply

