Kom-what-a?

So, while the majority of my energy has been used to coordinate my life of new puppy mom-ing and training hard for this “Regionals” thing coming up in TWO WEEKS…I’m choosing to talk about other things in this moment of down time. Well, not really DOWN time…if we are being completely honest…I’m driving at this exact second. Yup, DANGEROUS, REBEL KENZIE is putting all other commuters in danger on I-474. No, false. I’ve not go my laptop open on my passenger seat, nor am I typing this in my iPhone’s “notes” (which I have been known to do on occasion,) I’m merely mental blogging. Ok so maybe I’m not ACTUALLY writing anything, but this is actually when I get most of my thoughts/words aligned to then be put into a document. My work takes me ALL over the area, behind the wheel, and I refuse to gain nothing from this time except knowing all the lyrics to “Talk Dirty to Me” (could they play that song more?) and extremely tight hips/ sore lumbar area. So, I make mental notes on blog worthy topics…and maybe talk to myself as I do it. Yeah, I’m that girl. Just being real guys, no secrets here…don’t act surprised.

Like I said, let’s talk about other less all-consuming subjects…like what happening in the world of food. I have a new obsession and I’m not afraid to talk about it. It’s a refreshing beverage…fizzy and fruity…slightly yeasty…and a bit alcoholic. Kombucha is the word and it is the hottest thing since sliced bread in the health food world.

Image

Historically drank in China, Russia and Germany, this drink has been described as “a cross between a tea and a fermented alcoholic beverage, with a flavor that is slightly sweet yet acidic.” The fruity flavor combined with a yeasty, carbonation twist really makes this drink unique. So why all the hubbub surrounding this beverage? It’s the live bacteria and the array of health benefits it claims to offer!

I admit, the proclaimed health benefits of this beverage are a little bit outrageous, as it would be a magical cure-all elixir. Yes, even a cure for cancer has been said to come from this beverage! Other claim range from detoxification, appetite control and energy boosts, to other stunning claims including its ability to decrease blood pressure, relieve arthritis, increase the immune response, lower cholesterol, and support digestion, metabolism, liver function and body alkalinity.

Like any health care professional, when I first read about the cornucopia of benefits, I was skeptical. How could one beverage do so many things? But then I realized that it’s not so much that the beverage does something to our bodies, like a medicine targeted at curing specific symptoms. It’s more that this beverage promotes health. It gives your body what it needs to heal itself. That concept I can get on board with…because that’s the principle of proper nutrition.

Nutritionally speaking, kombucha is particularly rich in “friendly” yeast and bacteria species, as well as organic acids such as acetic and ascorbic acids (aka vitamin C). It also contains a variety of enzymes, amino acids, antioxidants called polyphenols and vitamins B1, B6 and B12, which may account for its reputation for helping with digestion, stimulating metabolism and deterring infections. Kombucha is also a source of multiple minerals, albeit in smaller amounts compared to other nutrients. The alcohol content of kombucha depends on the period of fermentation, but is comparable to apple cider and far less than that of light beers. Healthy fungus that you can catch a buzz off of if you drink enough? COUNT ME IN!

Image

Extreme health claims and nutrition profile aside, this drink is De-lish. A good alternative to soda, the variety with chia seeds is my most favie! Most popular in health food stores like Whole Food and Fresh Market, but making its way to mainstream Hy-Vee and Kroger stores-try it out and see if this trending thirst quencher earns your approval. Post a comment and let me know what you think, or if you’ve been down with Kombucha since before my time, voice your experience as well!

I personally, am developing a problem…

Leave a Reply

