The CrossFit Kool Aid

So, chances are if you are reading this blog you’re probably pretty wise to the fact that I believe CrossFit is the greatest gift to this planet. Ok maybe I exaggerate. Besides, everyone knows RFJ is God’s gift to the world… I mean, are you really going to argue with this? But I digress…

Yeah, I CrossFit. If you are reading this you probably already know that because you either:  a. met me through the sport… b. have known me forever and expect nothing less than obsessive fitness endeavors… or c. you’re a random CrossFitter that clicked to read this this because you saw “CrossFit” in the title and are clearly as fixated on this sport as I am. Whichever scenario, you probably also hear me talk about CrossFit pretty much constantly, in any opening in every conversation. This is not because I LIKE doing it, it’s because it’s what you HAVE to do…

Though, personally my philosophy is more…

So I’ve been CrossFitting for about a year and a half now. I won’t lie, I am entirely preoccupied with passion for this sport; day in and day out I crave it. And while I absolutely love the competitive nature of the sport, the daily challenge training presents, and the glory of seeing progress and winning competitions…that’s not what does it for me. It’s the people.

There is a special bond that forms between people whom endure physical pain simultaneously. Ok, so yeah, it’s self-inflicted and it’s a GOOD pain, but pushing through something physically taxing, side by side really brings people closer together. We appreciate the dedication and determination of one another, and we lean on each other for strength in the roughest moments. Through these experiences a great deal of trust is formed. Trust that my teammates will pick up the slack, keep going, and carry me to the finish when I can’t give anymore; I don’t have to ever worry because they always have my back. We believe in each other’s abilities more than we believe in our own. The limitations and doubt that I put on myself are invisible to the man on either side of me.

Honest, yet encouraging, these people lift me up and push me beyond what I imagine I can do.They celebrate my victories and help me overcome obstacles along the way. And we have a hell of a time doing it.

Photo: Ya gotta tuck it in if ya wanna roll with us @Jess Sierer #spandexswag #crossfit #crossfitgirls #PRinstyle #lululemon #junkbrands #swag

Photo: TIME TO GET WEIRD!!!!

We laugh, we scream, we cry, we revel-together.

1175079_10100566671205267_381995565_n

IMG_3572

The whole is greater than the sum of its parts.

Surround yourself with positive people

I have formed more meaningful, trusting relationships in the past year by doing CrossFit than I have in the past 10 years of my life.  It is incredible, the quality of people that I’m surrounded with daily while exercising. Not only are they an amazing support system, but they genuinely care about me as a person and know me for more than just being a CrossFitter. These people are more than gym mates, they are more than friends…they are family. And I am so thankful, every day, which I get to call these people my training partners, my team. I’m not sure where I’d be without them.

Leave a Reply

